The Louisiana Digital Library (LDL) offers access to thousands of digitized primary sources. This guide highlights 18th and 19th century maps of the U.S. and Louisiana.
To use this guide, please follow the links to browse and research collections.
Baton Rouge Room Maps
The Baton Rouge Room of the East Baton Rouge Parish Library houses over 300 maps. This selection reflects some of the most historic maps in the collection. Most of these maps are from the 20th century, but the collection includes several 19th century maps of Baton Rouge and Louisiana.
- Topics: maps, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Louisiana State Museum Historical Map Collection
This collection holds original as well as photographic and facsimile map reproductions and is dated 1525 to the present.
- Topics: maps, exploration and discovery, North America, South America, Louisiana, New Orleans, Gulf of Mexico
Mapping Louisiana: Louisiana Maps from 1513 -1900
This map collection extends from 1513 to the present, including state and regional topographic maps, maps of vegetation zones and natural resources, parish and highway maps, and plans of New Orleans tracing the city's development since its founding in 1718. The link directs to a page with collection holdings narrowed to those dated from 1700 to 1900.
- Topics: maps, exploration, surveying, Louisiana, New Orleans
Maps from the Historic New Orleans Collection
This map collection extends far beyond the New Orleans region to take in the Gulf Coast as well as eastern North America dating from early colonial times to the present. The link directs to collection holdings sorted by date.
- Topics: maps, exploration, surveying, North America, South America, Louisiana, New Orleans, Gulf Coast
Maps of Louisiana Collection
This collection consists of historically important original maps associated with the French colonization of the territory of Louisiana, and the Louisiana Purchase.
- Topics: maps, exploration, discovery, Louisiana, North America, Gulf States, Gulf of Mexico
Pintado Papers
A collection of manuscript land surveys made chiefly by Vicente Pintado and Charles Trudeau, royal surveyors of Louisiana and East and West Florida during the Spanish colonial period, office of the Surveyor General of Louisiana.
- Topics: maps, exploration, discovery, Louisiana, Florida, Gulf of Mexico, colonialism, Spain
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
This collection of two volumes of the 1876, New Orleans, Louisiana, Sanborn Fire Insurance Atlas, consists of forty fire insurance maps featuring individual city blocks in New Orleans, Louisiana. Data includes where buildings were located, how they were laid out on each property, and the materials from which they were constructed. The buildings are color coded to indicate those materials, while symbols and notes provide additional information.
- Topics: maps, New Orleans, fire risk assessment, construction, urban archeology
