This guide highlights items and collections related to topics such as natural disaster, climate, conservation, and man-made pollution.
To use this guide, please follow the links to browse and research collections. In some cases we have provided links to filtered results within a collection.
Flood of 1927
Search results related to the Flood of 1927 from State Library of Louisiana. Results include Federal Writers Project articles about the flood from the Louisiana Works Progress Administration Collection, as well as photographs of the flood from the State Library of Louisiana Historic Photographs Collection. See, for example, a WPA article about Flood Control, a WPA article about the LeBeau Colony Fleeing the Flood, and this photograph of men building a protection levee in the floodwaters.
- Topics: natural disaster, emergency response
Hurricane Audrey: After the Storm
Search results from State Library of Louisiana Historic Photographs Collection highlighting photos of damage caused by Hurricane Audrey after it swept across Southwest Louisiana in June 1957. Includes photos of damage taken on June 28th by the Louisiana Air National Guard.
- Topics: hurricanes, natural disaster, emergency response
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Documents
PDFs of issues of the Louisiana Conservation Review from 1930 to 2010 from LSU Libraries Government Documents. Issues are searchable.
- Topics: science writing, environmentalism, conservation
Louisiana’s Gas Industry
Search results from State Library of Louisiana Historic Photographs Collection highlighting photos of Louisiana’s gas industry in the 1930s, including photos of gas well blowouts.
- Topics: gas industry, gas fields, gas wells, blowouts
Louisiana's Petroleum Industry
Search results from State Library of Louisiana Historic Photographs Collection highlighting photos of Louisiana’s early petroleum industry, including a photo of Oil Field with geyser at Oil City in 1912 and articles on the Southwest Louisiana Oil Fields and Lafitte Oil Field.
- Topics: oil industry, oil fields, oil wells, blowouts
Louisiana State Museum Hurricane Katrina Oral History Project
Audio of interviews with people who lived in New Orleans during Hurricane Katrina, including two people who were rescued after the storm, a healthcare professional, and a person who evacuated.
- Topics: natural disaster, emergency response
Mississippi River Flood of 1927 Photograph Album
A collection of photos that show damage to infrastructure, repair crews, levees, etc. after the 1927 Mississippi River Flood. Includes a copy of the Federal flood relief check.
- Topics: natural disaster, emergency response
Tensas River National Wildlife Refuge Ivory Billed Woodpecker Records
A collection of photos documenting the (now extinct) ivory-billed woodpecker and its environment on the Singer Tract. Includes a hand-drawn map of nesting sites.
- Topics: wildlife conservation, birds
Water Pollution
Search results from State Library of Louisiana Historic Photograph Collection highlighting photos of dead fish due to water pollution and lax environmental regulations in the 1920s and 1930s.
- Topics: man-made disaster, pollution
