This guide highlights items and collections related to Huey P. Long and the state during his governance.
To use this guide, please follow the links to browse and research collections. For some collections we have provided links to filtered results and example items to help you get started.
Huey Long
Huey Long in the Charles L. Franck and Franck-Bertacci Photograph Collections
This link directs to a search result page which includes images related to Huey Long, such as this article written after Long’s death and many photos of the Huey Long Bridge.
- Topics: Huey Long, bridges, architecture
Huey Long Collection in TAHIL (Teaching American History in Louisiana)
A variety of documents related to Huey Long’s leadership, including a collection of speeches by Long, a political cartoon satirizing Long, sheet music for Long’s “Every Man a King,” and this draft of the bill to impeach Long.
- Topics: Huey Long, impeachment, elections, populism, campaigns
Huey P. Long Radio Address, 1935
Transcript of a radio address given by Huey Long in 1935. In the address he discusses his Share Our Wealth Society, an alternative political organization focused on redistributing wealth. Long was assassinated the year this address was delivered.
- Topics: Huey Long, populism, radio
Huey Long in the Robert S.Maestri Photograph Collection
This link directs to a search result page which includes photos of Huey Long that are included in the larger Robert S. Maestri Photograph Collection. Many photos show Long at political events and posing with other community members and politicians. Includes, for example, photos of Long at the Veto Protest Parade, speaking to a crowd from the State Capital, and attending a political meeting.
- Topics: Huey Long, political events, rallies, senate
Huey Long in State Library Historic Photographs Collection
This link directs to a search result page highlighting photographs of Huey Long, including portraits as well as photographs of his speeches, his funeral, and the construction of the Huey Long statue at the State Capital.
- Topics: Huey Long, portraits, statues, state capital
1930s Louisiana
Charity Hospital Reports
Reports from the New Orleans Charity Hospital dating from the 1840s. Huey Long expanded the state’s two Charity Hospitals, doubling capacity at the New Orleans branch, creating a network of public hospitals, and founding the LSU Medical School. These reports include public health information on morbidity and mortality.
- Topics: health care, disease, public health
America Between the Wars 1920-1940
Documents such as memos, posters, and newspapers, especially regarding depression-era unemployment relief funds and elections.
- Topics: Huey Long, great depression, unemployment, elections
American Missionary Association in Louisiana
Photographs of the activities of the American Missionary Association in Louisiana. Most photos are dated from the late 1920s to the early 1930s. Many photos focus on the Congregational Young People’s Conference as well as Vacation Bible School.
- Topics: religion, church, young people
Center for Louisiana Studies Archive, 1927-1938
This link directs to a search result page highlighting photographs and images of Louisiana, dated from 1927 to 1938. Includes images of state buildings and magazine illustrations of Louisiana.
- Topics: architecture, print culture, acadians
Photographs of Jazz Musicians
This link directs to a search result page highlighting photographs of jazz musicians from the early 1930s included in the New Orleans Jazz Museum Collection. Includes images of Louis Armstrong, the Boswell Sisters, and others.
- Topics: jazz, music, New Orleans, Louis Armstrong
