The Louisiana Digital Library (LDL) offers access to thousands of digitized primary sources. This guide highlights items and collections related to various religions, including Christianity, Judaism, and Voodooism.
To use this guide, please follow the links to browse and research collections. The links direct to either individual items or curated search results, as noted.
Natchitoches Cane River Civil Rights Oral History Collection
Search results leading to oral histories dealing with religious practice and experience in The Natchitoches / Cane River Civil Rights Oral History Collection. Includes two oral histories from Rasul Abdulla, who grew up in central Louisiana and converted to Islam. This collection features interviews with leading civil rights activists from the Natchitoches and Cane River areas.
- Topics: Christianity, Islam, Civil Rights, Race Relations, African Americans
Christianity
African American Churches
Search results leading to materials held in the Works Progress Administration Collection related to African American Churches, particularly First Zion Baptist Church, Fifth Baptist Church, and the Church of God in Christ.
- Topics: African Americans, Christianity, Churches, Religious Gatherings
Baptism at Ama Louisiana, 1939
Search results documenting an outdoor baptism is St. Charles Parish c. 1939.
- Topics: Rites and Ceremonies, Baptisms
Church Histories in the Works Progress Administration Collection
- History of the Church of the Immaculate Conception, Natchitoches, La: The Catholic mission was first established in Natchitoches in 1717. Document includes a hand drawn invitation to St. Francis Cathedral in Natchitoches.
- History of the Catholic Church in Northwest Louisiana, DeSoto Parish: Pioneer accounts of missions and churches are discussed along with early Louisiana bishops and their works. Published in the Shreveport Times.
- History of the Catholic Church at Opelousas: Records baptisms by Fathers Arazena, Luis, Grumeau and Gefrotin, in French, in 1787. The succession of clergy is also included as well.
Clergy
Search results leading to materials related to clergy. Items include numerous pictures of Christian clergy from many traditions.
- Topics: Christianity, Clergy, Photographs
Folk lore Churches
Document in the Works Progress Administration Collection describing two baptist church services led by "Father Joseph," a visiting pastor who claimed to perform healings, resurrections, and other miracles. Services were probably given at the Jerusalem Baptist church, probably located in or near New Orleans, Louisiana.
- Topics: Baptist Churches, Preachers, Preaching, African Americans
M. M. B. Conner, her book
This 1907 scrapbook, compiled by Mary Macrery Britton, contains photos of people her family enslaved, along with handwritten captions and newspaper clippings. Includes many photos of baptisms.
Saint Joseph’s Day
Search results leading to pictures and documents depicting the celebration of the Feast of St. Joseph. Most results are from the 1930s and 1940s.
- Topics: Feast of Saint Joseph, Catholicism, Saints, Shrines
Vacation Bible Schools
Search results documenting Vacation Bible Schools. Includes some results from outside of Louisiana. Most photos date from between 1920s-1940s.
- Topics: Christianity, Children, Portraits
Missionaries in Louisiana
Methodist Missionaries Visiting Isolated Homes of Native Americans near Lafayette, Louisiana
Photo of Methodist Missionaries visiting isolated Native American families near Lafayette, Louisiana.
- Indigenous People, Methodism, Missionaries
Obituary for Father Adrian Rouquette, 1887
Obituary for Father Adrien Rouquette. Includes a detailed history of his missionary work with the Choctaw people in Louisiana and also of his literary and poetic works. Published in the New Orleans Times Picayune.
- Topics: Catholicism, Clergy, Missionaries, Indians of North America, Choctaw Indians
Judaism
Judaism
Search results related to Judaism, including photos of synagogues and photos related to Mikhail Osipovich Gershenzon, Russian Silver Age Pushkin scholar and Russian-Jewish philosopher.
- Topics: Judaism, Synagogues, Historic Buildings, Intellectuals
Rabbis
Search results featuring Rabbis from around the state.
- Topics: Judaism, Rabbis
Voodoo, Shamanism, and other Spiritual Practices
Illustration of a New Orleans Voodoo Ceremony
An 1887 illustration of a New Orleans voodoo ceremony.
- Topics: Rites and Ceremonies, Voodooism, Supernatural Practices, African Americans
Voodoo in the Works Progress Administration Collection
Search results leading to materials held in the Works Progress Administration Collection related to Voodoo.
- Topics: Supernatural Practices, Voodoo, Rites and Ceremonies
Newspaper Article on Doctor Kuku, 1902
New Orleans newspaper article on Doctor Kuku, an African magician and voodoo doctor. The article was published in the Times-Democrat and describes his visit to New Orleans, including a speech from him.
- Topics: Shamans, Magicians, Voodoo, African Americans
Shamans
Search results leading to materials (including pictures) of shamans and medicine men and women in Louisiana.
- Topics: Supernatural Practices, Shamans, Healers
